Space policy roundup – Oct.16.2017

NewSpace Watch
/
Launch
/
October 16, 2017

A selection of links to policy, politics, and other government news and resource items related to space (check back for updates):

[ Updates:

  1. Monday, Oct. 16, 2017; 2-3:30 pm PDT (4-5:30 pm CDT, 5-6:30 pm EDT); We welcome back DENNIS WINGO. The theme for the program is that for space, risk is a four letter word.
  2. Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2017; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT) : We welcome back NICK NIELSEN to the show. Nick will be talking about settling the Moon, cultural history and issues. Check out his 2017 Starship Congress talk as I have posted the URL for it on the blog.
  3. Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2017 : Hotel Mars with John Batchelor, Dr. David Livingston. See upcoming show menu on the website for details. Note that this is a pre-recorded session.
  4. Friday, Oct. 20, 2017: 9:30-11 am PDT, (12:30-2 pm EDT; 11:30 am-1 pm CDT): We welcome back DR. HAYM BENAROYA. Haym will be discussing lunar development and more.
  5. Sunday, Oct. 22, 2017: 12-1:30 pm PDT (3-4:30 pm EDT, 2-3:30 5 pm CDT): We welcome back KERI KRUKA regarding the upcoming new Raw Science Film Festival to be held in early January in Santa Barbara, CA.

]

Webcasts:

** John Batchelor – Blue Origin New Glenn quicklyBob Zimmerman talks about Blue Origin’s New Glenn and other space news topics and policy issues:

** The Space Show – Fri, 10/13/2017 – 09:30Dr. Christopher Newman spoke about ” Space law, policy, commerce and programs in the UK plus much more about space & the British people”.

Listen to the audio (mp3).

** Dawn: Ten Years of Exploration | The Planetary Society – “Dawn Mission Director and Chief Engineer Marc Rayman helps us salute the ion-engine powered spacecraft that first orbited asteroid Vesta in the main asteroid belt and then moved to dwarf planet Ceres, revealing two fascinating worlds. The new US National Space Council met in Washington DC last week. Director of Space Policy Casey Dreier reviews it. Planetary Society CEO Bill Nye reports from Australia where he addressed the International Astronautical Congress.”

** Space Policy Edition #17: The 75th Anniversary of the Rocket Age, with Dr. Michael Neufeld | The Planetary Society – “Fifteen years before Sputnik, on a bright 1942 afternoon in northern Germany, a thundering machine of metal and fire pierced the sky, ultimately touching the edge of space for the first time in history. This was the first successful test of the A4 rocket—later renamed the V2 by Nazi propagandists. It opened a new era of opportunity and terror with rocket technology. Dr. Michael Neufeld, Senior Curator of Space History and the Smithsonian, and author of Von Braun: Dreamer of Space, Engineer of War, joins the Space Policy Edition podcast to discuss the significance of this test and how it happened. We also take a look at current budget progress, good news about the Mars Exploration Program, and Space Policy Adviser Jason Callahan recounts his experience at the International Astronautical Congress in Australia.”

Read More

Share

Related Articles

Verticals

Is NewSpace India on the rise while Antrix Corporation wanes?

Continue Reading